Dark Shadows

Sid Laptop 019

The sun fiery orange

going over the horizon

evening shadows lengthening

soon the curtain of darkness will fall

in my garden dark shadows

most everywhere

the moon a pale yellow

smiling down on me

from the darkest corner

comes my friend Melancholia

her face so very white

dark shadows beneath her eyes

she looks pained

while ghostly spirits

flit and fly about her

she makes me want to sigh

I hear the lonely screech of an owl

and I hear the whispers of the spirits

as they call to me

so very lonely in the dark

I step into the dark shadows

that take ahold of me

like long black, clasping fingers

they pull me and Melancholia along

so we walk in the silence

while dark shadows follow us

here the moon lights the way

then it’s dark once more

like a spotlight

in which I step by step

I hear Melancholia sigh

I know she is crying

she loves the beauty of the night

it is her birthright

and the ghostly twirling spirits

call out to her from many yesterdays

at the end of the garden

there beneath the tall oak

we sit and we watch

dark shadows with the moon play

there is a comfortable silence

no words to say

ghostly spirits with dark shadows dance

while the moon highlights this tango

a lovely, creepy dark night

that will fade with the morning light

for now I listen to the whispers

and the familiar old melodies

a sad smile upon my lips

lost in sweet memories

Melancholia takes my hand

it is cold and safe

clouds hide the moon

as thunderheads warn of rain

dark shadows hide away

and soon Melancholia will go

I watch her rise

the ghostly spirits ready to follow

the owl hoots a sad farewell

until the next night

when dark shadows will find us once more

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

