Cornflower In My Heart

I often stop to admire

meadows of cornflowers when they are in bloom

and it always seems to me

that a small, blue cornflower is calling to me

 

The sun high on the horizon

radiates its golden rays

as the blue cornflowers

lift up their heads and smile

 

Nearby stalks of wheat

do a golden dance

in the summer breeze

and all about I see blue and gold

 

Nothing makes me happier

than fields of blooming flowers

that seem to sing in chorus

just like birds on the wing

 

I turn about and spread my arms wide

to embrace the beauty all around

my soul so much in awe

seeing that meadow like a blue sea in the breeze

 

 

It doesn’t matter

that perhaps in other meadows

fancier flower may bloom

for in my heart a blue cornflower sings

 

 

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

