Come to the Carnival

ferris wheel

Songs invite you to the cabaret

I say life is a never ending carnival

we strive to catch that golden ring

but golden rings

can be just glittering baubles

worth nothing more than pennies

 

life is not life

if there is constant worry and strife

so strike up the band

let it play

bring joy into your life

and say thank you my friend

for bringing smiles to me

for making my life worth living

 

make life a carnival

enjoy all that is for free

spread your arms and fly

with the spring breezes

and sing with the bird choruses

up in the trees

 

money cannot buy us

happiness or love

just offer us contentment

and keep the taxman at bay

as soon as it’s made it’s spent

we never know where it went

 

but a field of colorful wildflowers

is there to be admired

today and tomorrow

the beauty of the mountains

rivers, oceans and seas

the golden sun that shines upon us

the romance of the moon and the stars

 

there is the magic of true love

and true friendship

these are the things

that keep our hearts beating

we march to our own melody

each beating a different drum

some of us like to stroll and some run

all of this makes life so much fun

 

there is a loon up in a tree

that is telling me with its cry

I’m as crazy as he

but that is of no matter

I enjoy laughter

keeping the carnival going

at a pace like horses prancing

and in the spring rain dancing

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

