You Didn’t Know Me

Spring Clouds and Flowers 016

I thought our love was eternal

I thought our love was forever

then I had a dream

where you no longer knew me

 

you told me –

that you’d recognize me

if I was a blooming flower

or a graceful tree

or a crystal clear refrain

from a beloved song of long ago

 

I was a blooming flower

you didn’t notice my beauty

I was a graceful tree

you just kept on walking by

I was a crystal clear refrain

but you no longer knew the words

 

Would you perhaps recognize me

as a different blooming flower?

as another graceful tree?

as a crystal clear refrain of a new song?

 

I became a chrysanthemum

you were searching for a rose

I was an apple tree

you were gazing at a birch

I was a sweet old song

you heard a pulsating beat

 

You made me into a wilting daisy

a weeping willow

an old-fashioned love song

and left me behind

as you went on your way

 

How will you recognize me

when in my dream you don’t even know me?

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Didn’t Know Me

  1. Mike Pugh says:

    Awesome dreamy style poetry. I could see myself being this person wondering what happened to the significant other that supposedly loved me once upon a time, or pretended to care to know me, but simply is a person who now knows of me and passes me by each time we cross paths. Crazy stuff but it’s how it is much of the time online and offline as well. many of my family members act like that 😉

Leave a Reply

