A Raven as Black as the Night

crow-284492_1280

Came the purple twilight

a time so melancholy

when memories of days gone by

come into my mind

 

unusual and dark night

preparing for a stormy time

I see there up above

as streaks of black clouds fill the sky

 

seemingly a haunting night

when spirits roam, about

it often fills my heart with dread

and then I saw him atop of the oak tree

 

there as the moon shone bright

at the very top of the old oak tree

swinging in the wind

a raven just as black as the night

 

it cawed loudly

and the sound echoed all about

there spotlighted by the moon

it sat hunched looking into the dark

 

then those clouds that streaked across the sky

hid the moon from sight

but I knew that raven was there

as I looked up to see its eyes glowed like two red hot embers

 

lightning flashed but for a second

then the wind picked up

out came the moon

and the raven held on tight

 

it seemed to be dancing

as the upper most branch

bent this and that

blown by the wind

 

a most ghostly effect

as those dark clouds stretched across the sky

shadows grew long beneath the light of the moon

and that raven mournfully did cry

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

