The Magic of the City Night

IMGP0265

The pace of the day was slowing

and according to the lowering sun

the night would soon come riding in

the pulse of the city at night would begin

 

so it was with every night

in large cities like New York

Manhattan’s business districts emptied

but the residential streets filled with people

 

they all came out

as the blinking neon lights called

like a river of people

they flowed this way and that

 

shoulder to shoulder

forward we’d march

each to their own

nighttime destination

 

there seemed to me a mist in the air

as the colorful neon surrounded me

colors everywhere in rainbow hues

as I ducked into a basement bar

 

here in the dark interior

to forget about life for awhile

the drinks were flowing like from fountains

and people were laughing and dancing

 

this atmosphere made me forget

and dear friends called round after round

soon I was dancing with laughing faces

and everyone seemed to be a friend

 

far into the night

the music would pulsate

heart beating along with the drums

let’s drink to the night and to life

 

soon it seemed as if it was another world

here in this artificial magical cave

where people came and went

and it seemed the party would never end

 

I wondered in how many cities

this scene was familiar

most likely in Rome, Paris or London

and time seemed to retreat

 

soon it was the moment

to return to reality

stepping out into the street

the night was drifting away

 

I wondered where I was

was it Rome, Paris or London

and then the first rays of the sun

created a city of gold

 

thousands of windows

that had looked like empty eyes

in the dawning light

now shown with golden light

 

they sparkled so bright

that my eyes began to tear

then I knew this could only be

the early morn in Manhattan

 

and I smiled that I had forgotten for a moment

and as the magical sun rays

rose up higher finding their way

to peep through the spaces between the skyscrapers

 

I made my way through the early Manhattan dawn

where it seemed I was in Eldorado

and had found my gold

walking in the still empty morning streets

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

