Closed Door

elusive dreams

Ever since the door on love

closed to me

my heart keeps leading me

back to your front door

 

it is there that I stop

knowing the door to me is closed

no one waiting to see my smiling face

no one there loves me

 

yet, I cannot think that love

can end so suddenly

surely if there was a spark

it is there, somewhere in the dark

 

and so I spend my days

wandering about

my heart longing for the love

behind that closed door

 

perhaps if our two eyes met

in sudden surprise we’d be

then perhaps you’d remember me

and love’s door would open wide

 

I just cannot hide

there is nowhere to go

you are in my mind, my thoughts

you are there behind that closed door

 

I stray not knowing the time of day

be it morning , noon or night

my heart has a mind of its own

and my feet keep walking back to you

 

across the street upon a park bench

I’ve become mesmerized by your door

I sit and I ache and I long for you

but the door never magically opens

 

then one day I was passing

my heart heavy, eyes misted with tears

blindly I stumbled along

looking up your door was open

breathlessly I ran up the stoop

and stepped inside

there you were, a sight to behold

the rays of the sun caught the glint in your eyes

 

you looked at me in great surprise

this woman who you brushed aside

then your face softened and you smiled

“We were once in love, weren’t we?”

 

and so I found my way

back into your loving arms

there to stay forever more

gone the days of the closed door

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

