Remembering You

broken heart

I remember loving you

it seems for a lifetime

you have been by my side

never farther than the reach of my hand

 

these memories will sparkle

and remain close to me

it was without any warning

that you broke my heart

 

now it seems that days

drift by without meaning

How can there be any meaning?

when even love was, but imitation

 

I wonder

if a new love has found you

I wonder if you tell her

you will love her forever

 

forever has lost its meaning

you once promised me

a love till all eternity

then crushed my heart beneath your feet

 

the last roses you gave me

died the day you left

they stand as a symbol

in the vase, a symbol of the death of love

 

each day I watch

as another dried up petal falls

this is the time I need for healing

for once the last petal has fallen

 

my tears will all have dried

my heart will be patched-up

your photos burned

another lesson in love I have learned

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

