Losing You

black rose

You were my only dream

the only truth my eyes could see

no matter where I looked

your love was warm and tender

promises never ending

 

You were my day and night

my morning sunlight

you were all this to me

if you can believe

on you I did rely

feeling safe and sheltered

from storms in the night

 

Then in one swift moment

a cloud hid the sun

and when I could see

through misty eyes

you were gone

so suddenly

as if you were only a dream

 

Leaving behind a world dull and gray

for you never believed

never thought it could be

all that you were to me

and so I go on alone

feeling adrift like upon a rough sea

forever to have

you only in the treasured photos

that I keep

and in the memories stored in my heart

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

