From a Foreign Land

rose

Somewhere in the past

you had heard of my homeland

you knew where my life had begun

and you were glad to learn more

I was so blissfully happy

to know that your love

was so very true

that you wished to seek

to see, to follow my footsteps

that I had once taken in the land

that was foreign to you

I spoke of the avenues

and the boulevards

the faces and places

once so very dear

now an ocean away

and as I spoke

I saw your eyes fill with love for me

to get to know my roots

was so very important to you

and then so tenderly you kissed me

and my hand trembled in yours

you were dreaming along with me

and at last I was home once more

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

