Wonderful Trees

Bird on the Road 020

Tall and strong

like soldiers they stand

here and in every foreign land

like eternal sentinels guarding

 

the wind blows through

making leaves dance

I hear the whispers

the language of the trees

 

in the wintertime

when the branches are bare

the wind makes a whistling sound

the lovely flute music of the trees

 

like dear, old friends

they always greet me

tall pines stretching into the sky

tree tops gently nodding

 

the smell of the bark

in the spring is sweet

when buds begin

on the branches to form

 

they know I love them all

from the birch, to the pine

to every other kind

to the stately and mighty oak

 

I love their beauty

everywhere I look

how often have I not wanted

to cry with the weeping willows by the river

 

trees lovely silent and dear

with each season

they change in grace and beauty

ever near trees

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wonderful Trees

  1. uniqusatya says:

    Your blog is so alive with your amazing poetry,simple words you use makes it even more pure 🙂

Leave a Reply

