Our Summer

DSC00443

The first time I saw you

was across a field of wild flowers

your eyes shining and blue

as the sun filled the sky above

 

I saw you, as it seemed you glided

it was a moment that I forgot the world

I watched as you approached

while my horse softly neighed

 

I remember seeing butterflies

flitting from flower to flower

so very colorful I’d never noticed before

and then you smiled so brilliantly

 

The country road was familiar to me

but you made it and the day extraordinary

you were a vision out of a fantasy

perhaps an enchanted fairy

 

Your hair was the color

of the golden hay

your smile like the sun rise

on a summer’s day

 

Even though we’re now parted

I’ll never forget our summer

when you came to me like a vision

and our love was strawberry sweet

 

It all comes back to me

time and time again

when the soft summer breezes

blow the scent of fresh hay all about me

 

I wonder where you are

and as I pass this field

I have dreams of seeing you again

and perhaps one summer I will

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

