In The Deep of Winter

IMGP1320

In the deep of winter

when the world is full of ice and snow

when each day has been bled of color

in my dreams I return to the sea

 

In summer days

I often wander to the sea

where I can hear the tales it has to tell

where the waves crashing upon the cliffs

remind me of lands near and far

 

To sit upon the shore

and gaze at the horizon

waiting to see sailing ships

traveling far and wide

to explore and have adventures

that I will never know

 

Perhaps to land upon an island

that lies beneath the blazing sun

where the sand is hot and golden

and palm trees gently wave in the breeze

colorful parrots flying about

a paradise I’d like to see

 

With eyes closed

dreams come upon me

and the winter melts away

once again I’m by the sea

and it whispers to me

come share my adventures

come listen to what I have to say

 

How wonderful it is then

not to feel the cold

to listen to the sound of the sea

as it sings to me

to walk along the shore

watching gulls flying above

far, far from the ice and snow

down by the sea

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In The Deep of Winter

  1. uniqusatya says:

    Winter blues eh?
    Nice one 🙂

Leave a Reply

