With Silver Bells Ringing

silver heart

It came so very quickly

I could hear a silvery bell tingle

the slightest of sounds

that heralded the fact that the New Year had come

 

As the midnight hour

counted the minutes still left

before the old year bowed out

a parade of pictures danced through my mind

 

It was time once again

to store away a year’s worth of memories

and to fill the heart with hope

of a New Year that would be grand

 

Then came the hour

and away the old year flew

from somewhere I heard

silver bells ringing

 

The sky was filled with sound

as rockets went sailing high

bursting overhead in rainbow colors

the New Year was here

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to With Silver Bells Ringing

  1. Cheers Rasma you post lovely words and bring memories to all who read. Thank you for your support on my G+ Page. Much good fortune in the New Year.
    Jerry

Leave a Reply

