Reflections

IMG_20140502_0002(1)

There are times

when I look into the mirror

somewhere way back in there

I can see the faces

of my friends and me

perhaps they’re just faded memories

but the music sounds so clear

the laughter close and dear

 

The years may have flown

had I but known

that they’d pass by so quickly

with ups and downs

like on a wild roller coaster

I would have stopped

to treasure them more

but they just whizzed by

16, 20, 30 and more

 

The pictures remain

and they are stored in my mind

when I look at old photographs

it seems that the action

going on there

could begin again

if only there was magic in the air

and I could return to yesterday

for must a moment more

 

The road I’ve traveled

has had it’s twists and curves

surprises round many a bend

but I wouldn’t have it any other way

for then the friends I now treasure

wouldn’t be mine

and you and I my friend

wouldn’t be in this together

 

So throughout time

and all the tears and fears

all the years that have rolled along

bringing the silver threads

and golden memories

were worth it my friend

and I must say

let’s meet once more

and step into yesterday

relive the joys

hug and say, “I love you”

before the closing of our day

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections

  1. I love your poem Rasma. You remind us of yesterday with its successes and failures, joys and sorrows. It is true. Time flies. Sometimes we wish we could rewind the clock and begin again; but that is not possible. I like that your poem has an overall happy tone. We must be pleased with the way things have gone for us for it is for that reason that we have all the wonderful people we have in our lives and wonderful experiences. I can bet you have a great future in the domain of poetry. I encourage you to strive for the stars. You will get there.

Leave a Reply

