Bridge Spanning My Mind

IMGP3241

There’s a bridge spanning my mind

it leads me to you

whenever special memories

come flooding back

Whenever I think I can

still hear your voice

coming from the years past

There’s a bridge spanning my mind

from which I can look down

to see turbulent waters

with waves crashing below

in times of trouble

Knowing that sunny days

will soon be on the way

There’s a bridge spanning my mind

that I walk whenever I miss

the ones that I loved the most

It never lets me slip or fall

over the years that have come and gone

This bridge just keeps expanding

Stretching as far and as wide

as my memories will allow

First I’m crawling then walking then running

Life rushes past

like you can’t imagine

even in your wildest dreams

and it makes me breathless

Then it’s good

to stand once again

on that bridge spanning my mind

sparkling in the sun

with golden thoughts and memories

I see you somewhere

along the way

waving to me

as you get farther away

I know that someday

I’ll catch up to you

There over the rainbow

when that bridge

spanning my mind

comes to an end

and I find myself

in the world beyond

over the rainbow

where the bluebirds of happiness fly

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

