I Have to Wonder Why

Bird on the Road 020

The world keeps spinning

And I have to wonder why

It has grown old and tired

So much anger and strife

Yet, it keeps on circling

Round and round

I look at all the beauty

That the Lord has provided

Much of it destroyed by technology

And I have to wonder why

Walking by a peaceful river

Where gulls and ducks

Dance upon the waves

Where fish swim and jump

I see much pollution

Lots of garbage all around

And I have to wonder why

The forest has always seemed to me

Such a lovely sanctuary

Where tall pine trees

Nod their tops

The wind whistles a happy tune

But down below

Old campfires

And people generated filth

Litters the moss

And I have to wonder why

Why cannot people

Leave nature unscathed

Take their trash and pollution elsewhere

So that we can still admire nature

And delight in its beauty

About Rasma R

I live in Riga, Latvia. I was born in N.Y.C. Love to write articles and poetry. Instruct people in the English language. Live in the suburbs with my husband Martin and my wonderful cat Sid. I love rock and roll, cooking, reading, poetry and traveling.
This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Have to Wonder Why

  1. C.J. Black says:

    Nice to make your acquaintance Rasma, I also wonder why but we are never going to change some peoples attitude to destruction – great poem I away now to explore more of your writing and further educate myself.
    Chris.

  2. Rasma R says:

    Thank you Chris. It’s appreciated. This world just keep getting tougher and tougher.

Leave a Reply

